About COOLEYS HOTEL
Cooleys Hotel is highly regarded as an historic site. In 1841 the former hotel of "The Horse and Jockey" was taken over by Thomas Cooley. Hence today's name of Cooleys Hotel. Cooleys Hotel held a long affiliation with the Cooley family as it was handed down through different family members.
The structural changes that Cooleys Hotel has seen of the past include renovations on many occasions, in the last 19th century the hotel underwent a rebuild that ended in a second story being added to the building. Then once again in 1934 the hotel was given a freshen up by the Cooleys family.
Then in 1982 the local newspaper "The Mercury" reported a hefty renovation cost to Cooleys of around three hundred thousand dollars. The final and more than likely not last refit was in 2010 for the new and current owners The Kalis Group. The Hotel now boasts one of the most modern feels for a local and historic hotel.
As part of the recent renovations it was decided to maintain one of the more historical features of the building, that of the old tack shed that was used by the local racing fraternity before and after the local races at the then popular Albert Park Track, and later on the Elwick Racecourse. The current owners conducted a very mindful renovation of the tack shed and it is now used as a small gallery to support up-and-coming artists.